Nicholas Jones
Dr. Nicholas P. Jones

Executive Vice President
and Provost

Dr. Nicholas P. Jones is The Pennsylvania State University’s Executive Vice President and Provost.

As Executive Vice President, Dr. Jones serves as the chief executive officer in the President’s absence, and he is centrally involved in most University operations. As Provost, Dr. Jones is the University’s chief academic officer, responsible for the administration of all of Penn State’s educational and research programs. He is charged with enabling and driving the success of about 17,000 faculty and nearly 100,000 students at Penn State’s 25 campuses, including 24 throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the online World Campus. He also serves as the University’s chief budget officer.

Dr. Jones chairs the meetings of Penn State’s Council of Academic Deans and the Academic Leadership Council. He serves on the President’s Council and is an ex officio member of the University Faculty Senate and Senate Council. He also chaired the University Strategic Planning Council, which developed the University-wide strategic plan, titled “Our Commitment to Impact,” for the calendar years 2016 through 2020. Dr. Jones’ approach to leadership and strategic planning emphasizes collaboration, innovation, and the development of critical cross-disciplinary initiatives and partnerships.

Dr. Jones came to Penn State in July of 2013 from Johns Hopkins University, where he served as the Benjamin T. Rome Dean of the Whiting School of Engineering and previously as Professor and Chairman of Civil Engineering. He also served for two years as Professor and Head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He holds an M.S. and Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from the California Institute of Technology and previously earned his undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Auckland in New Zealand.

Vice Provosts

Michael Adewumi
Vice Provost for Global Programs

Kathleen Bieschke
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Renata Engel
Vice Provost for Online Education

Lance C. Kennedy-Phillips
Vice Provost for Planning and Assessment

Regina Vasilatos-Younken
Vice Provost for Graduate Education

Marcus Whitehurst
Vice Provost for Educational Equity

Vice Presidents

Suzanne Adair
Associate Vice President for Affirmative Action

Madlyn L. Hanes
Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses and Executive Chancellor

Michael Kubit
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Robert N. Pangborn
Vice President and Dean for Undergraduate Education

Neil A. Sharkey
Vice President for Research

Other Unit Leaders

Dawn Blasko
Executive Director, University Faculty Senate

Mary Lou Ortiz
University Budget Officer, University Budget Office

Donald Welch
Chief Information Security Officer, Office of Information Security


College of Nursing, Laurie Badzek

Dickinson Law (Carlisle), Gary S. Gildin

Eberly College of Science, Douglas Cavener

Penn State Law (University Park), Hari Osofsky

Schreyer Honors College, Peggy Johnson

Smeal College of Business, Charles Whiteman

The Graduate School, Regina Vasilatos-Younken

Undergraduate Education, Robert Pangborn

University Libraries and Scholarly Communications, Barbara Dewey

Provost’s Office Core Staff

Mikala Andino-Dockter
Administrative Support Assistant to the Executive Vice President and Provost

Holly Beaver
Executive Assistant to the Provost

Bruce Crocefoglia
Human Resources Strategic Partner

John Delavan
Communications Strategy Specialist

Contact List (Core Staff and Direct Reports)
(PDF, updated June 11, 2018)


Academic Leadership Council (ALC)
(PDF, updated September 28, 2018)

Council of Academic Deans (CADs)
(PDF, updated November 6, 2018)

Council of Campus Chancellors (CCC)
(PDF, updated August 27, 2018)

Committee for Undergraduate Enrollment (CUE)
(PDF, updated November 7, 2018)
formerly the Central Enrollment Management Group

Facilities Resources Committee (FRC)
(PDF, updated October 11, 2018)

University Access Committee (UAC)

Other Entities: Big Ten Academic Alliance, formerly the Committee on Institutional Cooperation

Organizational Charts